
When you open a project in Ableton Live, AbleSet automatically creates a folder called "AbleSet" in your project directory. This folder contains settings and resources that can be shared between computers if you ever copy or move your project over.
The folder contains a number of sub-folders:

Below, I'll explain each folder and their contents.
This folder contains your Canvases. If you'd like to share a Canvas, just copy its file and paste it into the Canvases folder of another project.
If you upload images to a Canvas, AbleSet creates a Resources folder inside this folder and places them there. You can also manually add images to that folder to use them in your Canvases.
This folder contains generated audio cues for your songs and sections, grouped by the voice model used to generate them.
This folder contains project-specific Custom Styles. These get applied to the AbleSet web app in addition to the global Custom Styles.
Any files you place in this folder (e.g. images) can be accessed under
/custom-styles/project from the web app.
When you open a project file in Live, AbleSet parses that file in the background to get information about locators, clips, tempo, time signatures, etc. which it can't access using Live's Control Surface API.
These parsed results are stored in the Project File Cache folder so they can be loaded instantly the next time you open the project.
For Multi-File Projects, AbleSet parses all project files in advance to give you information about sections, durations, etc. before they're opened in Live.
If the folder becomes too large or you're experiencing issues with outdated information, feel free to delete it and restart AbleSet.
This folder contains the Project Script and a shared-variables.json file containing all persisted Shared Variables.
You can edit the Project Script from here, but I'd recommend using the script editor on the Settings page, as it offers autocomplete and highlights errors.
Deleting the shared-variables.json file resets all shared variables.
The Setlists folder contains all saved setlists. When you overwrite a saved setlist, the previous version is stored in a Backup folder with a timestamp so you can restore it if needed.
Files in subfolders are ignored, so you could create an "Archive" folder and move old, unused setlists there to hide them from the setlist load dialog.
This folder contains all of AbleSet's settings. When you create a new Ableton Live project, AbleSet will copy the settings of the previous project into the new project's Settings folder.
Computer-specific settings, like AbleNet settings and the path
to the Multi-File Projects folder are stored in a
specific-[hostname].json file. This avoids issues with apps that automatically
synchronize your project folder between two computers.
This page was last modified on 2026-05-31